How to File a Workers Compensation Claim in Oklahoma
Knowing your rights is the first step to protecting them. This is why educating yourself on your most basic rights as an employee is critical should you sustain an injury within your workplace.
Of these locations, the workplace is probably where you spend most of your time. This makes it the one most likely place for unforeseen incidents that could lead to injury or impairment. You have a right to be compensated, depending on the nature of your injury and the resulting medical bills, lost wages, and/or permanent impairment. Under the law, an injured worker can receive Oklahoma workers compensation after taking the required steps that qualify their case for coverage.
The Oklahoma workers compensation law requires that nearly all employers must have insurance for workers compensation. Filing for workers’ compensation is best done with the aid of a workers’ compensation lawyer who can guide you through each step of the complex and involved process. This way, you prevent the risk of being denied or damaging your chances of getting the benefits you deserve.
Workers’ compensation benefits must be provided to anyone whose injury or illness happened as a result of and within the course of their employment. Generally speaking, injuries that take place while performing work or doing work errands should be covered by workers comp insurance. However, injuries that happen while you are off-duty or off the clock are usually not compensated, such as lunch break injuries or those that occur during your commute to or coming from work. Consult with a workers’ compensation attorney to determine your eligibility for workers’ compensation.
Traumatic injuries, as well as occupational diseases, are covered by the workers’ comp law and if you suffer from any injury or disease as a result of your job, it is critical to notify your employer within 30 days of the incident so as not to lose your right to collect compensation benefits. This notice should trigger your employer to file their First Notice of Injury with the state workers’ compensation agency, which will then be sent to the insurance company or claim handler. The insurance company, in turn, has 15 days to give you notice whether or not they are denying the compensation claim.