DUI AND DRIVING LAWS AND PENALTIES IN OKLAHOMA
Driving Under the Influence
Oklahoma injury attorney, we see all too often what alcohol can do to damage vehicles and property, injure people, and ruin lives. We encourage the Oklahoma City community to act responsibly and drive safely. When you drink and drive, or even text and drive, you don’t just risk your own life. You risk the lives of other innocent people on the road with you.
In a previous article, we discussed DUI. This article continues the topic. In Oklahoma, you can be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your blood alcohol level is found to be .08 or higher. You can be convicted of Impaired Driving if your blood alcohol level is .05 to .07. Refusing to submit to the blood alcohol test is a crime, and there are significant penalties. Often, people hire DUI lawyers to fight these cases. If you’ve been injured by a drunk driver, it is highly recommended to consult with an injury attorney who has handled these types of cases.
When you are arrested for DUI, even if your first offense, your drivers license is automatically revoked. Your DUI will be considered a first offense if you have not had an alcohol-related offense in ten years. You do have 15 days to contest the revocation, through the Department of Public Safety.
So what are the penalties you face for drinking and driving? If found guilty of Impaired Driving (.05 to .079), first offense, penalties are:
$100 to $500 fine
up to 6 months in jail
The 30-day suspension of your driver’s license
If found guilty of Driving Under the Influence, first offense, penalties are:
- $1,000 fine
- 10 days to 1 year in jail
- 180-day suspension of your driver’s license
You may have never heard of Aggravated Driving. This is another serious offense. When your BAC (blood alcohol content) is .15 or more, you can be charged with Aggravated Driving and this carries stronger penalties than DUI. You’ll face fines, possible jail time, and suspension of your license. But you can also be given an Ignition Interlock requirement.
Ignition Interlock is a system that keeps you in compliance by checking your blood alcohol level when you are ready to start your vehicle. If your BAC is at the preset level, your vehicle will not start.
Now, what if there was a child in the vehicle when someone receives a DUI or Aggravated Driving charge? Their trouble is magnified. Driving under the influence with a child in your car can result in a Child Endangerment charge – bringing fines up to $5000 and as many as 4 years in jail.
As you can see, how you drive and how careful you are is extremely important. Making one bad decision can hurt you for the rest of your life and affects your family and those who love you. At our law firm, we encourage everyone to utilize taxi cabs and designated drivers. Put safety first.